What are the rules for travelling to green, amber and red list countries?

The Balearic Islands – including Ibiza, Majorca and Menorca – have moved to the amber list of countries.

And adults who were fully vaccinated in the UK, and under-18s, no longer have to self-isolate after visiting amber-list countries.

France is an exception however.

Which countries have moved lists?

Along with the Balearic Islands, the British Virgin Islands have moved from green to amber.

Bulgaria and Hong Kong join the green list. Croatia and Taiwan join the green watchlist, meaning they’re at risk of being moved to amber.

Cuba, Indonesia, Myanmar and Sierra Leone move to the strictest red list.

These changes apply to people travelling to all parts of the UK.

Can I travel to an amber-list country?
The vast majority of countries are on the amber list.
Government guidance in England no longer advises against travel to these countries. Scotland and Wales continue to advise against non-essential overseas travel. Northern Ireland advises people to “avoid travelling as much as possible”.
What are the new rules for returning from an amber-list country?
Adults who have been fully vaccinated in the UK don’t have to self-isolate for 10 days upon return from an amber country.
France is an exception however. Those returning to the UK still need to quarantine because of concerns about the Beta variant.
People coming from other amber-list countries still need to pay for a Covid test three days before returning, and a PCR test two days after arriving. They no longer need a day eight test.
They have to prove they were vaccinated at least 14 days previously, via the NHS Covid Pass, or an NHS Covid Pass letter in England, and equivalents in the rest of the UK.
Under-18s no longer have to self-isolate returning from an amber country.
In EnglandWales and Northern Ireland, children aged 10 and under don’t have to test before travel, but do need to take one two days after arrival. Those aged four and under don’t need any tests.
In Scotland, adults and children over 12 have to take tests before returning home, and on day two.

What are the rules for green list countries?

There are only a handful of destinations on the green list. Nobody has to self-isolate after visiting these countries.

These currently include Hong Kong, Malta and Madeira. A number of Caribbean destinations are on the green watchlist, which means they are at risk of moving to the amber list. These include Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Barbados and Grenada.

Returning from a green-list country, you must:

You only need to self-isolate on return from these countries if your day two test is positive, you develop symptoms or NHS Test & Trace says you’ve travelled with someone who tested positive.

What are the rules for red list countries?
Red list countries are those the UK government says present the highest Covid risk, and should not be visited “except in the most extreme of circumstances”.
Dozens of countries are on the red list, including India, Pakistan, Turkey, Brazil and South Africa. If you have been in one in the last 10 days, you can only enter the UK if you are a UK or Irish national, or UK resident.
Returning from a red-list country – regardless of your vaccination status – you must:
take a Covid-19 test before departure and have proof of a negative result
complete a passenger locator form
self-isolate for 10 days in a government-approved quarantine hotel, which you must book and pay for in advance
Rates are:
10 days (11-nights) for one adult – £1,750
Additional adult (or child over 11) – £650
Children aged five to 11 – £325
Who decides if a country is green, amber, or red?
All countries go on the amber list unless there is evidence to suggest they should be on the green or red lists.
Ministers make the decision, based on advice from the Joint Biosecurity Centre (JBC), which looks at the Covid situation in each country.
The lists are reviewed every three weeks and, if conditions deteriorate, countries can move between lists without warning.
The system is broadly the same for EnglandScotlandWales and Northern Ireland.